Dr Sev Ozdowski OAM
ACHRE President
Email: sevozdo@gmail.com
Web: www.sevozdowski.com/

Vincenzo Andreacchio
Executive Officer
Email: achre@live.com.au

Current Activities

About the ACHRE

The Australian Council for Human Rights Education (ACHRE), formerly known as National Committee for Human Rights Education, was established in 1999 by a group of committed and dedicated volunteers to actively pursue human rights education in Australia in response to the UN Decade on Human Rights Education (HRE). ACHRE is registered in Victoria under the Associations Incorporations Act 1981.

Adelaide Forum, Nov 2011

The key achievements of the council include:

  • The registration of the council in Victoria under the Associations Incorporations Act 1981.
  • Establishment of State and Territory networks to promote nationwide the goals and program of activities of the Citizen for Humanity project.
  • Provision of online human rights educational materials for primary and secondary schools community organizations as well as for government representatives and officials.
  • The Citizen For Humanity Project launched at Parliament House Canberra in 2002. This is focused on teaching about the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
  • Establishment in 2007 of the National Centre for Human Rights Education at RMIT University in Melbourne.
  • Submissions to Federal State and Territory Governments on human rights education in Australia.
  • Initiation and co-sponsorship of national and international conferences, seminars and workshops, including the International Conference on Human Rights Education "Educating for Human Rights Peace and Intercultural Dialogue" held in Sydney,Australia (2010), Durban,South Africa (2011), Cracow,Poland (2012) and Taipei,Taiwan (2013)
  • Participation in international human rights education initiatives such as provision of HR training in developing countries and participation in international fora and conferences.

The NCHRE Dinner Table at the 2010 National Conference

His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd) Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia

Mr Patrick Dodson
Hon. Michael Kirby AC CMG
Her Excellency Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO

Committee Members
ACHRE Committee of Management Office Bearers
Dr. Sev Ozdowski AM FAICD
ACHRE President
Dr. Lynda Ann Blanchard
Vice President
Ms. Pera Wells
Vice President
Assoc. Prof. Joseph Zajda
Mr. Vincenzo Andreacchio
Executive Officer
Dr. Madeleine Laming
Secretary/Public Officer

ACHRE Committee of Management Ordinary Members
Dr. Nina Burridge
Dr. Paul Hine
Mr. Chander Khera
Prof. James Arvanitakis
Hon. Pierre Slicer QC AO
Mr Jeswynn Yogaratnam

ACHRE Honorary Consultants
Prof Philip Alston
Mr. Michael Antrum
Professor James Arvanitakis, PhD
Prof. Linda Briskman
Ms. Sharan Burrow
Prof Hilary Charlesworth
The Hon Elizabeth Evatt AC
Dr. Haruhisa Handa
Prof. Jim Ife
Hon. John Kerin AM
Ms Tanja Kovac
Hon. David Malcolm AC QC
Prof. Mary O'Kane
Prof. Margaret Reynolds
Rt. Hon. Ian Sinclair AC
Justice Pierre Slicer
Rt Hon Sir Ninian Stephen KG, AK
Dr. Eric Tan AM
Assoc. Prof. Anthony Taylor
Dr. June Verrier
HE Ms Penelope Wensley AC
Dr. John Wu AM
Mr. Sam Wong AM